Wells Drug February

BC/NG’s Hedlund, Micek of St. Edward chosen for Striv Classic

Striv founder and CEO Taylor Siebert is pleased to announce that York High School will again be the host for the 3rd Annual Striv All-Star Basketball Classic, presented by Cornerstone Bank, on June 3. The girls game will begin at 6 p.m., with the boys to follow at 8 p.m.. In addition, a new skills challenge and 3-point shooting contest will be held between games.
“The first Saturday of June has certainly been a success we didn’t really plan on,” Siebert said. “We have been floored by the success of this event and the response we got from players, coaches and fans.
“This is a great way for us to showcase our student-athletes. Our growth and commitment to help share a school’s story is highlighted by this event. With over 80 schools, we have plenty of great athletes to choose from and we hope to put on a fun, family-friendly event with high-quality basketball.”
Among the players chosen for this year’s Striv All-Star Classic are Tessa Hedlund of Boone Central/Newman Grove and St. Edward’s Jonah Micek.

The coaches and players could be the best since the game started in 2015. The boys Blue Team will be coached by Centennial’s Cam Scholl, while the Orange Team will be led by Winnebago’s Jeff Berridge. Scholl led the Broncos to an appearance in the Class C2 state tournament, where they were defeated in the first round by eventual state champion Ponca. Centennial qualified for the first time since 1983 and finished with a record of 22-4. Berridge has turned the Indians into a perennial power in Class C. They won the C1 title in 2015 and finished third in C2 in 2016 and in C1 this past season. Winnebago finished 2016-17 28-3. On the girls side, friends and rivals Nathan Behlke (Dundy County-Stratton) and Scott Polacek (Howells-Dodge) will face off in a “rubber match,” as Behlke and DCS defeated H-D at the state tournament in 2015, and H-D returned the favor in 2016. In different classes in 2017, DCS advanced to the Class D1 final and Polacek’s Jags were the C2 champions.

Further details and complete selections in Print & Online editions of Albion News