Two Boone County precincts to use mail-in ballots

Two Boone County election precincts are among 22 Nebraska precincts where voters will no longer go to the polls on election day.

Instead, voters in the North Branch/Shell Creek Precinct, located in the county’s northeast corner, and Boone Precinct, in the east central potion, will cast ballots by mail.

The all-mail precincts were approved in February by Secretary of State John Gale.

“Using mail in these instances is an attempt to cut costs and reduce voter hardships in sparsely populated areas,” said Gale.

Other counties using all-mail precincts are Morrill, Cherry and Keya Paha.

County Clerk Kathy Thorberg said the ballots can be mailed to voters in the two precincts no earlier than April 23. The completed ballots returned by mail must arrive by 8 p.m. on May 13.