Tisthammer edges Fick in commissioner race

Jerry TisthammerA close race for the District 2 County Commissioner seat highlighted the Primary Election in Boone County on Tuesday, May 13.

Incumbent Jerry Tisthammer edged challenger Tom Fick by just eight votes in the Republican primary race for commissioner. Unofficial results Tuesday night showed Tisthammer with 264 votes compared to 256 votes for Fick.

Unless a write-in candidate seeks the District 2 seat before the November General Election, the race has been decided in the primary.

Albion Development Plan

Albion voters approved the ballot measure to continue the city’s economic development plan by a margin of more than two to one. Local voters cast 347 votes in favor of the plan, with 155 votes in opposition.

The measure designates one-quarter of the city’s one percent local sales tax for economic development as authorized under LB 840.

St. Edward Sales Tax

St. Edward voters also approved a one percent city sales tax measure by a margin of nearly two to one. The vote was 124 in favor and 64 opposed.

The sales tax proceeds will be used for city infrastructure and economic development.

District 41 Legislative Race

Kate Sullivan of Cedar Rapids carried Boone County by a wide margin in her race against four other candidates for the District 41 seat in the Nebraska Legislature.

Sullivan received 1,063 votes, more than triple the total for the second place finisher, Paul Eurek, who received 310 votes in the county.

Vote totals for the other District 41 candidates in Boone County were: Gary Rasmussen 203, Jerry Peterson 59 and Jerome Warner 31.

NPPD Board, Subdivision 9

Shirley Petsche of Petersburg was also a big winner in her home county, running against five other candidates for the Subdivision 9 seat on the Nebraska Public Power District Board of Directors.

Petsche received 848 votes in Boone County. Jerry Chlopek ran second with 223 votes, and John Krings was third with 203 votes.

Other vote totals for NPPD Board candidates in Boone County were Robert E. White 153, Larry G. Kuncl 116, and Don Schaufelberger 54.

Other Races

Boone County Republicans favored John McCain in the Presidential race by a margin of 915 to 114 over Ron Paul.

Mike Johanns also won easily in the Republican race for U.S. Senate, defeating Pat Flynn by a margin of 827 to 248.

Adrian Smith was also a big winner in the Republican race for Third District Congress with 901 votes compared to 100 for challenger Jeremiah Ellison.

In the Democratic race for the President, Boone County voters gave the edge to Hillary Clinton with 262 votes compared to Barack Obama with 212 and Mike Gravel with 47.

Democrats favored Scott Kleeb in the U.S. Senate race, 347 to 167 over Tony Raimando. Jay Stoddard was the Democratic favorite for Third District Congress, 263 to 111 over Paul Spatz.

Boone County voters also approved Constitutional Amendment 1 by a margin of 839 to 681.