Three BCR Point Leaders Win Features

James Kelley (7) battles Nick Wehrle (12W) in LM racingThree of the four season point leaders won feature races Friday, July 11, again increasing their advantages at the Boone County Raceway in Albion.
The only non-leader to snare an A Feature event Friday was Albion’s Mike Kelley, who won his second consecutive and class-best fourth feature of the season in Late Model racing. The victory boosted Kelley into second place, just six points back of pacesetter Mark Lueken of Albion.
Jason Gaver of Columbus stretched his Modified class lead to a whopping 28 points with his third A Feature win of 2008. Gaver joined Osceola’s Dylan Smith and Jared Hoefelman of Columbus as three-time winners this season. The trio has captured every BCR Modified feature race in 2008.
Humphrey’s Randy Hooker also won his third feature in the Street Stock class, taking a double-digit season lead in that division. Brother Mark Hooker of Albion was the feature runner-up, breaking a second-place tie with Norfolk’s Shawn Primrose in the season point battle.
In Hobby Stock racing, Bryan Molt of Cedar Rapids nabbed his second A Feature victory of ‘08 and added five points to his season point cushion.
The Holt County Sprints also made the second appearance of their abbreviated BCR 2008 season July 11. O’Neill’s Daniel Nekolite won the A Feature, while Bob Dvorak took over the overall point lead with a runner-up finish.