NSAA Announces Winter Academic All-State

The Nebraska School Activities Association has announced its 2008-09 winter Academic All-State awards.
The NSAA program recognizes students who meet the criteria for nomination by their school in the season the activity takes place.
The following leadership and scholarship guidelines apply to all of the students honored:
1) A nominated student must be a varsity participant or orginizational leader who has played a significant role on the team or in the orginizational activity that season;
2) A nominated student must have a minimum cumulative grade point average, in all curricular subjects, of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent (93% or A-, etc.);
3) A school may nominate two students for each NSAA-sponsored activity.
Following are the students from Boone Central and the Albion News coverage area honored with NSAA 2008-09 winter Academic All-State awards:
Boone Central: Dusty Dozler (basketball), Bryce Morgan (basketball), Erica Carder (basketball), Cara Struebing (basketball).
Cedar Rapids: Mark Swerczek (basketball), Matt Zoucha (basketball), Lana Koziol (basketball), Laura Rutten (basketball), Jami Scott (speech), Matt Zoucha (speech).
Lindsay Holy Family: Andrew Kurtenbach (basketball), Kelan Schumacher (basketball), Jennifer Frisch (basketball), Stacey Lindhorst (basketball), Zach Hemmer (speech), Kim Schumacher (speech).
Newman Grove: Darrek Schmidt (basketball), Alyshia Nelson (basketball), Kelsey Wallin (basketball), Darrek Schmidt (speech).
Spalding/Spalding Academy: Tara Cockerill (speech), Justin Stevens (speech).
St. Edward: Cortney Werner (basketball).
Elgin: Brett Mahnke (basketball), Tyler Reestman (basketball), Ashley Bode (basketball), Jessica Heithoff (basketball), Linsey Bode (speech), Jeff Bush (speech), Nathan Anderson (wrestling), Anthony Hemenway (wrestling).
Pope John: Jake Schindler (basketball), Jeff Starman (basketball), Tracey Eischeid (basketball), Jackie Seier (basketball), Jordan Engle (speech), Dylan Heithoff (wrestling).