BCR Hobby Stock division a “dogfight”

BCR Late Model Leader Robert Osborne (35)It can’t get any closer than this.
Chris Tenski of St. Edward forged another tie in the Hobby Stock point standings Friday at Albion’s Boone County Raceway, with Bryant Borer of Petersburg lurking just three points back.
Borer used a runner-up feature race finish to thrust himself squarely into the season point dogfight while Tenski (8th) and Kimmel (10th) struggled Friday night.
In the Street Stock class Randy Hooker of Humphrey had another solid feature run, placing third, and holds an eight-point cushion in the season standings. Meanwhile, Norfolk’s Robert Osborne (Late Model) and Dylan Smith of Osceola (Modified)  continued to dominate, each winning their A Features and building 2009 advantages of 19 and 18 points, respectively.
Hobby Stock
Racing began Friday, June 12, with Jeremy Hoskinson (26) of Norfolk winning the first Hobby Stock heat ahead of Tenski (23). Albion’s Ryan Fajman (3) beat Jeff Ware (83) of Columbus to the finish line in heat two and Jon Schalk (50) of Cedar Rapids took heat three in front of Borer (7B).
Lincoln’s Travis Albracht (38A), fourth in the initial heat, wheeled to the checkers in the A Feature, with Borer second. Schalk finished third, followed by Robbie Evans (27) of Elgin, Hoskinson, Albion’s Bob Rieck (57) and Fajman.
Street Stock
Stock Car action got rolling Friday with Albion’s Mark Hooker (30) winning heat one ahead of Joe Rungquist (60) of Duncan. Jason Wilkinson (52) of Neligh took the second heat with Randy Hooker (25) runner-up.
Randy Pelster (11) of Petersburg stormed to the A Feature victory after finishing just fifth in the opening heat. Wilkinson was second, trailed by Randy Hooker, Jason Frisch (71) of Hoskins, Rungquist, Troy Bergman (31B) of Columbus and Bellwood’s Josh Grape (14J).
Mark Lueken (12) of Albion kicked off Modified racing June 12, winning the first heat in front of Oakdale’s Dean Wilkinson (52). Smith (95) beat Rising City’s Shane Hiatt (21H) to the line in heat two.
Smith then swept to another A Feature win, followed by Jared Hoefelman (15H) of Columbus, Lueken, Elgin’s Cole Haddix (05) and Tyler Iverson (98T) of Albion.
Late Model
In Late Model action, Norfolk’s Tad Pospisil (04) beat Allen Primrose (22A) of Primrose to the checkers in heat one. Mike Kelley (17) of Albion won the second heat ahead of four Norfolk drivers, led by Jr. Coover (10). Osborne (35) took heat three in front of Albion’s Greg Krohn (20).
Osborne followed up with the A Feature victory, as Kelley ran a strong second. Coover finished third, followed by Primrose, Bob Milander (77B) of Pierce, Jay Smith (77) of Norfolk and Pospisil.

Season Point Standings in Print & Online Editions of Albion News.