Four New Feature Winners At BCR

Mod point leader Smith (95) battles Wilkinson (52)Brad Bittner, Troy Bergman, Steve Reynolds and Allen Primrose were first-time 2009 feature race winners Friday at the Boone County Raceway in Albion.
Hobby Stock
Hobby Stock racers kicked off the June 19 card at the BCR as Shawn Rasmussen (97) of Albion won the first heat ahead of fellow local Chad Briese (29). Norfolk’s Brent Jochum (4J) took heat two, followed by Ryan Fajman (3) of Albion.
After running fifth in the second heat, Brad Bittner (12) of Albion stormed to the A Feature win, trailed by Jochum, Chris Tenski (23) of St. Edward, Briese, Rasmussen, Petersburg’s Bryant Borer (7B) and Robbie Evans (27) of Elgin.
Street Stock
Street Stock action opened Friday with Albion’s Mark Hooker (30) beating Randy Pelster (11) of Petersburg to the finish line. Josh Grape (14J) of Bellwood took the second heat checkers ahead of Bergman (31B) of Columbus.
Bergman came back to score the A Feature victory in front of Mark Hooker, Josh Grape, Elgin’s Bud Miller (75), Ron Grape (14) of St. Edward, Jason Wilkinson (52) of Neligh and Pelster.
Action in the IMCA Modified class cranked up with Elgin’s Cole Haddix (05) winning heat one in front of season-long points leader Dylan Smith (95) of Osceola. Tyler Iverson (98T) of Albion took heat two, followed by Josh Pfeifer (33J) of Spencer.
Reynolds (96R) of Springfield, SD won his first A Feature of ‘09 ahead of Iverson. Smith took third, trailed by Jared Hoefelman (15H) of Columbus, Albion’s Mark Lueken and Shane Thome (1S) of Spalding.
Late Model
Greg Krohn (20) of Albion got Late Model action rolling with a victory in the first heat ahead of Primrose (22A) of Primrose. Mike Kelley (17) gave Albion drivers a heat sweep, winning the second LM race in front of Norfolk’s Tad Pospisil (04).
Primrose (22A) closed out the BCR’s regular classes by beating season point leader Robert Osborne (35) of Norfolk to the checkers in the A Feature. Jay Smith (77) of Norfolk was third, followed by Kelley, Jim Johnson (36) of Plainview, Norfolk’s Chad Jensen (73) and Lueken (12) of Albion.
The Holt County Sprints returned to the BCR Friday to continue their abbreviated schedule.
Brant O’Banion (47) of Norfolk sped to the victory in heat one, with Bassett’s Jamie Turpin (32) winning heat two. O’Banion then outran Gary Reber (8R) of Gregory, SD in the feature event.
(Boone County Raceway season point standings were unavailable at Albion News press time).