Point Leaders Retain Positions At BCR

Mark Lueken Wins Modified A FeatureAlthough several classes remain razor-close, point leaders at the Boone County Raceway in Albion all retained their respective edges after competition Friday, July 24.
In the tightest of the point battles, Humphrey’s Randy Hooker is holding off brother Mark Hooker of Albion by a single digit. Nic Kimmel of Norfolk added three points to his Hobby Stock advantage and is now five up on Chris Tenski of St. Edward.
Norfolk’s Robert Osborne of Norfolk won another 2009 BCR feature to add to his Late Model lead and Dylan Smith of Osceola kept a stranglehold on the Modified division with a runner-up A Feature run Friday.
The Holt County Sprints made their third BCR appearance July 24 and Gary Reber of Gregory, SD also retained his point lead.
The July 31 card at the Boone County Raceway, beginning at 8 p.m., will feature SLMR Late Model Series racing and support classes.
Hobby Stock
Hobby Stock action opened Friday with Albion’s Brad Bittner (12) winning heat one in front of Monroe’s Dan Spitz (20S) and Chad Briese (29) of Albion.
Ryan Fajman (3) took second heat checkers ahead of fellow Albion driver Shawn Rasmussen (97) and Kimmel (17K).
Travis Albracht (38A) of Lincoln followed up a fourth-place finish in the first heat with his initial 2009 A Feature victory. Kimmel ran second, followed by Brent Jochum (4J) of Norfolk, Elgin’s Robbie Evans (27), Tenski (23) and Rasmussen.
Street Stock
Winning the initial Street Stock heat race July 24 was Dave Langan (24) of Albion, trailed by Mark Hooker (30) and Troy Bergman (31B) of Columbus.
Randy Hooker (250 took the second heat ahead of Neligh’s Jason Wilkinson (52) and Ron Grape (14) of St. Edward.
Langan finished a strong night by also winning the A Feature in front of Grape, Wilkinson, Mark Hooker, Bergman and Randy Hooker.
Jacob Anson (13J) of Albion took checkers in heat one of Modified action, followed to the line by Norfolk’s Kyle Prauner (5K) and Steve Reynolds (96R) of Springfield, SD.
Chad Arntt (10) of Palmer won heat two in front of Smith (95) and Lueken (12).
Lueken came back to outduel Smith in the A Feature, with Anson taking third. Albion’s Tyler Iverson (98T) and Dean Wilkinson (52) of Oakdale rounded out the top five.
Late Model
Late Model racing began Friday with Bryan Molt (11B) of Cedar Rapids winning the first heat ahead of Norfolk’s Jay Smith (77) and Osborne (35).
Tad Pospisil (04) topped fellow Norfolk driver Chad Jensen (73) and Albion’s Mike Kelley (17) in heat two.
Osborne continued to pace the division with a victory in the A Feature and Kelley continued his second-half resurgence with a runner-up finish. Smith took third, followed by Molt, Jim Johnson (36) of Plainview and Pospisil.
Opening action in the Holt County Sprints portion of Friday’s card, Adam Walton (42AJ) won heat one ahead of Stuart’s Bob Dvorak (17). Jamie Turpin (32) of Bassett beat Reber (8R) to the line in the second heat.
Dvorak took the A Feature checkers ahead of Ron Krysl (20PK) of Atkinson, Rick Hansen (36) of Norfolk and Reber.

Point Standings Available In Print & Online Editions Of Albion News.