Fajman, Kelley Score Wins For Locals At BCR

Mike Kelley Won LM A Feature FridayLocal drivers Ryan Fajman and Mike Kelley highlighted Boone County Raceway action Friday, August 7, with victories in the Hobby Stock and Late Model A Features, respectively, and drivers continued to jockey for position in two tight season point battles as the 2009 campaign nears its end.
While Dylan Smith of Osceola and Norfolk’s Robert Osborne maintained firm grips on the Modified and Late Model point leads last week, the Hobby and Street Stock classes remain up for grabs with one regular BCR racing card and championship night remaining.
Jason Wilkinson of Neligh edged two points in front of Humphrey’s Randy Hooker and Mark Hooker of Albion in the Street Stock division with a third-place A Feature run August 7. In the Hobby Stock class, Nic Kimmel of Norfolk finished fifth in the A Feature, but remained four points ahead of St. Edward’s Chris Tenski, who gained only a single digit with a fourth-place finish Friday.
Drivers will continue to battle for position on the final regular-season night of racing August 14, setting up Championship Night August 21 at the fairgrounds facility in Albion. The summer season then concludes with the annual Boone County Raceway Shootout August 28.
Hobby Stock
Racing in the Hobby Stock class began Friday with Fajman (3) winning the first heat ahead of Elgin’s Robbie Evans (27) and Bob Rieck (57) of Albion.
Travis Albracht (38A) of Lincoln took the checkers in heat two, trailed to the line by Albion’s Brad Bittner (12) and Brent Jochum (4J) of Norfolk.
In the A Feature event, Fajman again beat Evans to the finish, with Shawn Rasmussen (97) of Albion taking third place. Tenski (23) was fourth, followed by Kimmel (17K), Bittner, Rieck and Josh Gembica (10) of Silver Creek.
Street Stock
Street Stock action opened August 7 with Jason Frisch (71) of Hoskins winning heat one in front of Petersburg’s Randy Pelster (11) and Randy Hooker (25).
St. Edward’s Ron Grape (14) beat Josh Grape (14J) of Bellwood to the line in the second heat and Mark Hooker (30) was third.
Josh Grape turned the tables in the A Feature, outdueling Ron and taking the checkered flag. Wilkinson (52) was third, Albion’s Dave Langan (24) fourth and Frisch fifth.
Kyle Prauner (5K) of Norfolk won the first heat of Modified racing Friday, with Tyler Iverson (98T) of Albion runner-up and Steve Reynolds (96R) of Springfield, SD third.
Palmer’s Chad Arntt (10) took top honors in heat two, followed by Jared Hoefelman (15H) of Columbus and Albion’s Jacob Anson (13J).
Smith (95), fourth in the first heat, garnered yet another A Feature victory in the division’s main event – his 10th of 2009. T.J. Artz (8) of Lincoln took second and was followed by Prauner, Anson, Hoefelman, Shane Thome (1S) of Spalding and Iverson.
Late Model
Opening Late Model racing, Bryan Molt (11B) of Cedar Rapids won heat one in front of O’Neill’s Jared Hoerle (21X) and Jim Johnson (36) of Plainview.
Norfolk’s Jay Smith (77) was the second heat winner, trailed to the line by Kelley (17) and Greg Krohn (20) of Albion.
Kelley capped the August 7 card by taking the Late Model A checkers ahead of 2009 point leader Osborne (35) and Molt. Norfolk’s Chad Jensen (73) finished fourth, followed by Hoerle and Tad Pospisil (04) of Norfolk.

Point Leaders in Print & Online Editions of Albion News.