BCR Shootout Concludes Racing Season

Mark LuekenThe 2009 summer stock car racing season officially concluded in Albion August 28 with the annual Boone County Raceway Shootout at the fairgrounds facility.
With the BCR season point champions crowned the previous week on Championship Night, drivers competed solely for prize money Friday, producing aggressive, exciting action throughout the card.

Hobby Stock
The Hobby Stock portion of the BCR Shootout opened with Chris Tenski (23) of St. Edward winning heat one in front of Norfolk’s Colby Langenberg (97J) and Travis Albracht (38A) of Lincoln. Norfolk’s Nic Kimmel (17K) took the second heat ahead of Eric Schroeder (22) of Genoa and Shawn Rasmussen (97) of Albion.
Kimmel, the 2009 Hobby Stock point champion, finished his BCR campaign in style with a victory in the A Feature. Chad Briese (29) of Albion was runner-up, followed by Tenski, Larry Remsing (32) of Norfolk, Petersburg’s Bryant Borer (7B), Rasmussen and Albracht.

Street Stock
Kicking off the Street Stock program August 28, Randy Hooker (25) of Humphrey took heat one checkers in front of Albion’s Dave Langan (24) and Jason Frisch (71) of Hoskins. Norfolk’s Shawn Primrose (1) won the second heat ahead of Troy Bergman (31B) of Columbus and Dave Freudenburg (24X) of Norfolk. Petersburg’s Randy Pelster (11) was the heat three winner, trailed by Albion’s Mark Hooker (30) and Dale Primrose, Jr. (4) of Norfolk.
Primrose, a past BCR point champion, added the A Feature victory, his second at the track in two ‘09 appearances. Bergman took second, followed to the line by 2009 class champion Jason Wilkinson (52) of Neligh, Pelster, Ron Grape (14) of St. Edward, Freudenburg and Norfolk drivers Brant Wolf (12) and Dale Primrose, Jr.

The first heat winner in Modified racing was Albion’s Tyler Iverson (98T), followed by Steve Reynolds 996R) of Springfield, SD and Jared Hoefelman (15H) of Columbus. Dylan Smith, ‘09 point champion, took heat two in front of Albion’s Mark Lueken (12) and Nathan Landauer (11N) of Lincoln.
Lueken came back to close his BCR season with the A Feature victory ahead of Spalding’s Shane Thome (1S). Smith finished third, followed by Hoefelman, Iverson and Reynolds.

Late Model
Albion’s Mike Kelley (17) got Late Model action rolling with a heat one victory ahead of Norfolk’s Chad Jensen (73) and Eric Vanosdall (9) of Winside. BCR 2009 point champ Robert Osborne (350 of Norfolk took heat two in front of Giltner’s Al Humphrey (6) and Tad Pospisil (040 of Norfolk and Bryan Molt (11B) of Cedar Rapids earned third heat checkers, followed by Albion’s Greg Krohn (20) and B.J. Haase of Norfolk.
Humphrey outran Plainview’s Jim Johnson (36) to win the LM A Feature. Osborne took third, trailed by Jensen, Vanosdall, Haase, David Babcock (71) of Creighton and Molt.