Riverside, News area schools dominate Six-Man All-State selections

When you fashion an 11-0 record, outscore your opponents 670-152 and win a second straight state title by a score of 72-18, you would expect members of your team to receive ample postseason honors for their accomplishments.
Such was the case for the Riverside Chargers in 2015.
After running roughshod over its competition this past season, Riverside had five players selected for the Nebraska Six-Man Coaches Association All-State first team, including the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year.
Along with the Chargers, St. Edward and Spalding Academy also had multiple players honored, as the Albion News area schools dominated the six-man all-state selections. St. Edward, state runner-up to Riverside, had three players picked for the all-state first team defense and two more on the second-team offense. Academy had two defensive first-team selections and another named to the second team.

Riverside senior Jake Kennedy was selected the Six-Man Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season. Junior teammate Noah Valasek was named the Six-Man Offensive Player of the Year. Senior Tanner Hudson (E), sophomore Enrico Kreher (K) and freshman Ty Martinsen (DB) were also all-state first team picks.
Seniors Bryce Hoffmeister (DL) and Brandon Miller (P) and junior Keenan Rasmussen (DB) were St. Edward players receiving first-team honors and were joined on the first team defense by Spalding Academy’s Colton Leslie (DL) and Brock Leslie (DB).

Complete All-State teams in Print & Online editions of Albion News