Albion Rural Fire Board hosts annual recognition banquet

Albion Fire & Rescue held its recognition banquet on Feb. 23. Two recipients of special awards were, l.-r., Mark Tisthammer and Kyle Larson.

Albion’s Rural Fire District board hosted the annual recognition banquet for Albion Fire & Rescue on Saturday evening, Feb. 23.
After the meal, Albion Volunteer Fire Department Recognition Committee members Ray Dozler, Whitney Paulson, Sara Rasmussen and Pam Sybrant handed out door prizes and began the program.
Recognition was offered to the ambulance committee, spouses/significant others, probationary members, retired/inactive members, and seven members working to complete the EMT licensing requirements.
The current AVFD roster, by years of service, was read. Those reaching milestone years and receiving a gift were: Clayton Thompson (five years), Jason Borer (10 years), Casey Slaymaker (15 years), Bruce Benne (20 years), Paul Kyncl (20 years), and Tracy Coakes (35 years).
The longest tenured member, Larry Pochop, was presented with a personalized apron. Fire Chief, Bruce Benne was given an appreciation gift from the Albion Fire & Rescue members.
Three special awards were initiated in 2017 to recognize three individuals whose service goes beyond that of the average member.
The 2018 special award recipients were:
• Rookie of the Year – Mitch Hardwick;
• EMS Provider of the Year – Kyle Larson;
• Fire Personnel of the Year – Mark Tisthammer.
Tom Sullivan spoke on behalf of the rural board and presented coats to Dan Hamling and Don Salber, who have each achieved 30 years of service on the board.
A retirement plaque was presented to Don Salber.
Hannah Cleveland of 3C’s catered the meal, and Ron Dozler offered the prayer to begin the evening.