Newman Grove

NG area 4-Hers receive honors

Leighann Miller of Newman Huskers 4-H Club received the Patty Nelson “Making the Best Better” Memorial Award for her efforts at the fair and helping younger 4-Hers at meetings.

Newman Grove area 4-Hers were among those receiving honors at the annual Madison County 4-H Achievement Ceremony held Oct. 13 at the Madison County Fairgrounds.
Awards were presented to youth writers and ad sellers for the 4-H Special Edition, followed by the three 4-Hers who exhibited the most static exhibits at the county fair. Serenity Strong had the most for the intermediate division with 36 static exhibits. Four clubs earned the 4-H Club of Excellence designation, including NexGeneration 4-H Club led by Kathy Strong and Newman Huskers 4-H Club led by Donna Miller.
Those who completed Career Portfolios or Annual Achievement Applications were granted county medals. Other awards included Herdsmanship, Diamond Clover pin to Serenity Strong for level three ruby, and the Orville Carlisle Rocketry Award.
Milestone membership pins were given to 74 youth members, including Carter Lyon, 5 years; Leighann Miller, 10; Autumn Patzel, 8; Brylee Patzel, 5; Trenton Patzel, 8; Ellie Rankin, 8; Mara Ranslem, 8; Leah Rast, 10, and Serenity Strong, 8.
Volunteers honored for significant years of leadership were Donna Miller (5 years), Doug McKibbon (8 years), Karen Grant (30 years), and Kay Knapp (40 years).
Each year, nominations for special awards are reviewed by a committee. Those receiving special awards this year were:
• Emily Neemeyer, “I Dare You” Award
• Emily Sholes, Glanzer Family Leadership Award
• Andy and April Brabec Family, Oswald Family “Spirit of 4-H” Award
• Leighann Miller, Patty Nelson “Making the Best Better” Memorial Award
• Katie Ferguson, Outstanding 4-H Alumni
• Kurt Jackson, Outstanding 4-H Leader
• Stacey Frisch, Outstanding 4-H Member
• Deb May, Heart of 4-H Award
• Stephanie Bates, 4-H Advocate of the Year
• Christian Ohl, N150 Extension Supporter Award.